Interview of the Week: Ryan Airston

This week’s interview is with Dakota Jackalopes LW “Flyin’ Ryan” Airston.

SHL Digest: This week, we’re talking with a longtime SHL star who’s had a long and twisting journey this season, Ryan Airston.  Ryan, thanks for speaking with us.

Ryan Airston

Ryan Airston: Hi, everybody!  “Long and twisting journey” is probably an understatement, to be honest.

SHLD: You said it!  Let’s talk a little bit about the year you’ve had.  In the offseason, you signed a contract extension, seemingly putting to rest the rumors that the team couldn’t afford you.  But then, a couple weeks after the season started, one of your teammates got those rumors going again by saying the team should move because attendance was too low.  The team denied the rumors, but then a couple months later, they tried to trade you and Arkady Golynin, only to have the league veto those trades and ultimately assume control of the franchise.  Now you’re closing in on the end of the season, and everything’s up in the air: no one knows where the team will be next year, or whether the GM and coaches will be back, or any of the players either.

RA: Man, it kind of makes me dizzy just hearing all that.

SHLD: With good reason.  So, first of all: how do you feel about everything that’s happened?

RA: Mostly, I feel bad for our fans.  Maybe there haven’t been enough of them to save the team, but they’ve been loyal.  They’ve kept showing up regardless of all the headlines and crazy stories.  And their reward for all that loyalty is they’re probably going to lose their team.  That just sucks.

SHLD: And what about you? How did you feel about almost being traded?

RA: I wasn’t happy to get traded.  Obviously, when I signed the extension here, that showed how much I wanted to stay with this team and these fans.  I hoped that by staying, it was a sign that the payroll cuts were over, and that the team was going to start building again.  I never imagined that less than a year later, I’d find myself on the way out of town, or almost.  I didn’t want to leave my teammates and the organization.  It felt like getting on a lifeboat from a sinking ship, only I was put on the lifeboat against my will.

SHLD: So were you happy when the trade was vetoed?

RA: It was complicated.  I was glad to be back, yeah.  But the whole mess showed just how badly off the team was financially, and with the league taking ownership, we’re all kind of stuck in limbo waiting to see what happens next.

SHLD: If the team does wind up in a new city, will you still want to stay?

RA: I think so, yeah.  I expect that in a new city, we’ll be able to start building again, and that’s exciting.  It’s a lot more fun when you know you’re playing for something.

SHLD: One last question: we’ve gotten a ton of question from people who want to know how your fluffy bunny ranch is doing. Can you provide us with an update?

RA: Doing very well, thanks.  This year’s bunnies are the fluffiest ones yet.  We’re up around 300 bunnies at this point.  If you know someone who wants a fluffy bunny for a pet, tell them to give me a call; I’ll hook them up!

SHLD: Sounds good!  Thanks for another fun interview, Ryan.  Good luck the rest of the season!

RA: It’s next season that I’m focused on at this point, but thanks!

Leave a comment