Interview of the Week: Cary Estabrook

This week’s interview is with Boston Badgers F Cary Estabrook.

SHL Digest: Today, we have a unique opportunity.  We’re speaking with the Boston Badgers’ first-ever player, Cary Estabrook.  Cary, welcome to the SHL!

Cary Estabrook

Cary Estabrook: Thanks!  I’m really excited about this.

SHLD: So, how did you become the Badgers’ first player?

CE: Well, [Badgers GM] Jody Melchiorre had scouted me for Anchorage when I was a senior at Western Mass, before last season’s draft.  But I wrecked my knee just before the end of the season, so the Igloos didn’t draft me.  But obviously he remembered me.

SHLD: Obviously, he thought well of you!

CE: Well, the surgery was successful, and my rehab’s gone well, so we felt confident that I’d be ready to go for ’18.  And the fact that I’m a local boy didn’t hurt.  I’m from Rhode Island originally.

SHLD: How does it feel to be the only Badger so far?

CE: It’s really exciting, but it’s a bit of a mixed blessing, you know?  I mean, no matter what I do the rest of my career, I’m going to be part of SHL history.  That’s definitely cool.

SHLD: No question about that!

CE: But I don’t just want to be the answer to a trivia question, you know?  I want to be remembered for being a great player.  I’ve got to keep working hard to make that happen.

SHLD: Do you think you’ve got a good chance to make the team?

CE: Hard to be sure until I can see the competition, right?  But Jody assured me that I’d have every shot to make it as long as I can stay healthy.

SHLD: If you were to compare yourself to a current SHL player, who would it be?

CE: Maybe a guy like Vonnie McLearen.  He’s a guy who worked hard to get where he is; he’s not the hardest shot or the fastest skater, but he’s a real competitor who works hard and plays solid on both ends of the ice.  That’s my game too.

SHLD: Have you had a chance to meet any of the fans in Boston yet?

CE: Yeah, actually.  We just had a season-ticket-holder event on Friday.  Jody said that we’ve already got over 5,000 season ticket holders, which is huge.  I love the fans here; they’re really smart, dedicated, totally into hockey.  Our arena’s in Southie, so we’re gonna draw those great working-class fans.  The atmosphere is gonna be off the charts.

SHLD: Can’t wait to see it!  Well, thank you for your time, and best of luck with your SHL career.

CE: Thanks.  No offense, but I’m really waiting for the next time you guys interview me.  That time, I’ll know you’re talking to me because I’ve made it.  That’s the dream for me.

One thought on “Interview of the Week: Cary Estabrook

Leave a Reply

