Reagle Dons Cowboy Costume During Game

Washington GalaxyWashington Galaxy coach Rodney Reagle attracted considerable attention this week when he coached the Galaxy’s 3-2 win against the New York Night wearing a ten-gallon hat, cowboy boots, and a bolo tie.

“I kind of expected him to lasso one of us,” said Night LW Chase Winchester.

Rodney Reagle
Rodney Reagle

In addition to his unorthodox garb, he conducted his postgame interview in a Western drawl, even though he is from upstate New York.  “We’ve got some tough hombres out there,” said Reagle.  “Winnin’ this division is gonna be like a showdown at the OK Corral, but we’re the fastest draw in the East.”  Several Washington players also reported that Reagle told them to call him “Bronco.”

When asked why he had chosen to wear this attire, Reagle made a quip about it being “Cowboy Awareness Week,” then shrugged and smiled.  “It’s a long season and you’ve got to find a way to keep things loose.  If the guys are looking at my hat or my boots and laughing instead of getting down about how tired they are, it’s a win-win.  I’m always willing to sacrifice my dignity for the good of the team.  Besides, if this whole coaching thing doesn’t work out, I can always join a dude ranch.”

Reagle did make once concession to practicality, though: “I was gonna wear spurs, too, but my wife talked me out of it.  She said I’d probably trip and hurt somebody.  She knows me too well.”

3 thoughts on “Reagle Dons Cowboy Costume During Game

Leave a Reply

