Interview of the Week: Ryan Airston

Dakota RapidsOur interview of the week is with Dakota Rapids LW “Flyin’ Ryan” Airston.

SHL Digest: We are here today with “Flyin’ Ryan” Airston, a player for the Dakota Rapids.

Ryan Airston: Hi, everybody!  It’s cool to be here.

Ryan Airston
“Flyin’ Ryan” Airston

SHLD: We’re happy to have you here! So, one of the most popular questions people have is: how are you so fast?

RA: Well, every day I skate 50 laps around the arena to work on my speed.  Also, I eat a lot of carrots, because bunnies eat carrots, and they’re fast.

SHLD: Many people don’t know about your fluffy bunny ranch and your love for bunnies. Can you tell us a little more about that?

RA: Sure!  I come from a long line of bunny ranchers.  At my ranch back home in Manitoba, we’ve got over 200 bunnies.  They’re so cute!  The fluffier, the better.  Sometimes I just go in there, grab a couple bunnies, and hug them.

SHLD: Wow, that is a lot of bunnies! I am glad you have something that inspires you.  Many players don’t have something so unique!

RA: Thanks.  When I was a kid, a lot of guys made fun of me.  They called me “Bunny Boy.”  But then I started skating past them and scoring goals, and they stopped laughing.

SHLD: So, switching topics: how do you think your team has been doing?

RA: I think we’re off to a strong start!  It’s a tough division – Michigan and Anchorage are really good – but we’ve got the best offense in the league.  We’re going to be hard to beat!

SHLD: It is true, your offensive statistics are quite impressive. Are there any areas in which you think the team could use improvement?

RA: Well, Coach is always telling us that we need to hit more guys.  I don’t know about that, but we play so fast and we can get burned sometimes.  We’ve got to take care of the puck in our own end.

SHLD: Lastly, if you could say anything to the other teams in the SHL, what would you tell them?

RA: I’d say that we may not be the biggest or the toughest guys, but you’d better watch out, because we’re going to blow by you and on to the championship!

SHLD: Good choice! Well, good luck to you and your team; keep going fast! Thank you so much for letting us have an interview.

RA: My pleasure!  It was neat talking to you.

2 thoughts on “Interview of the Week: Ryan Airston

Leave a Reply

